Giving Up on Books: What’s your opinion?

As of this moment, I’ve read 185 pages of A Prayer for Owen Meany and I’ve been more than ready to give up for a long time. I’m reluctant to, though, because it’s a friend’s favorite book. In fact, every time I mention I’m reading it it seems the person I’m talking to knows someone who declares Owen Meany is their favorite book. Since what I need in a book is a reason to keep going, I’ll probably go on. I think my curiosity as to why it’s my friend’s favorite (and so many people’s favorite) is enough.

Without that curiosity, I would give up in an instant. I’ve given up on many novels in my time. I gave up last year on Anna Karenina and the year before on Wolf Hall. And it’s not even because I can’t do long books. I fell passionately in love with Les Miserables and The Count of Monte Cristo and Middlemarch. And I’m currently drooling all over The Brothers Karamazov (and will probably keep drooling through it for quite a while). I just need something, anything to keep me going.

I’m curious, though, about your opinions. How do you decide whether or not to keep reading something?

And, if you want to share, do you have a favorite book?

Mine’s still Till We Have Faces, which I read, it turns out, about every four years. Since I started at 14 (and then 18, and again at 22), this means I still haven’t had the magical fourth reading– the time during which I’ve heard several scholars and Lewis buffs say is the time when you finally get the novel. I look forward to the next time it’s in a library near me!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Giving Up on Books: What’s your opinion?

  1. Christy says:

    There is not time in life to read things you don’t like (other than required textbooks and so forth). If you’ve given it a really honest try, whatever your opinion of a really honest try is, then give up if you so desire. Just because other people like something doesn’t mean you have to.
    I don’t give up things I’m in the middle of easily, honestly. Sometimes it actually takes me a while to realize that I really actually don’t like or even hate something I’m reading or watching. But then, because I’ve started it, I feel like I have to finish it, just to find out what happens. If I’m on a trajectory, I find it harder to stop than to keep on, even if I don’t like it. It’s very weird and actually rather annoying. Part of being a J and wanting closure, I reckon.
    But I’m against trying to force myself to like things other people like when I really don’t like them.
    Alas, I can no longer claim to have a favorite book. I have a vast series of favorite authors, various of whose books could be said to be my favorite book.
    Though frequently whatever book I’m writing is my favorite book.

    • mmstroet says:

      Ah, so I’m guessing writing through a first draft of something is easy for you — because to stop would be harder than to finish? Is this also part of why you keep writing new things instead of editing the old? (Ahem. Jais.)

      I too am against trying to force myself to like things others like. But that doesn’t stop me from being fascinated by the question of why they like it so much. I would never watch Jersey Shore. I just can’t. But I am always searching for someone who can express to me the appeal of it!

      There is no time to read things you don’t want to read. Truth. Perhaps Owen Meany will not be finished, after all.

  2. Amy Young says:

    Some fav books are:

    1. Return of the prodigal son by Henri. Nouwen
    2. Where the red fern grows by Wilson Rawls
    3. Tattoos of the heart by Father Gregory Boyle

    P.s. I’m one who liked Owen but can’t tell you why until you get to the end of the book 🙂

    • mmstroet says:

      Oo, thanks for the recommendations! Also the Owen Meany encouragement. I made it through a good chunk today in the Chinese Embassy. I am liking it more now that they’re getting older. 🙂

Leave a comment