Back in China

It is absolutely amazing to me that only about 17 hours after I left Stanford, I was in Hong Kong. And just two hours after that, in my friend’s home in Shenzhen.

It took less time for me to go from Stanford to Shenzhen than it would take me to drive from Stanford to Montana! What is this?

Oh the deja vu. It is all so familiar, and now it has been made strange again. Only not. Hearing the bus stop announcement jingle makes me so nostalgic. As does watching the general aesthetic of trees and construction everywhere pass by the bus windows. I guess crazy crowded Shenzhen has indeed managed to wrap its little fingers around some portion of my heart.

A few days here, and then we’ll see if I can get my hands on a plane ticket out to Xinjiang. Expect an update then, and hopefully some sort of sandy picture.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Back in China

  1. Adelaide says:

    I’m still hoping for a camel!

    Also, I’m so glad you made it safely. 🙂

Leave a comment